All for Love, and Love for All.

Ok, so it’s been a few days since I’ve sat down to write. I would like to say that I was just too busy to do so, but let’s be serious: It’s summer, I’m unemployed–I have nothing to do. The truth is, I’ve been lacking inspiration.

…Well, until today.

This morning, I slept in late, as is expected for someone with no daily life happenings because, well, summer. When I woke, I sat up in bed and pulled my trusty iPad into my lap in to check in with the world around me (a daily habit of mine that is a sad indicator of my dependence on technology, much to N’s chagrin). While scrolling through my skillfully-curated Twitter timeline, I became aware of the Supreme Court’s decision on Obergefell, Et al., v. Hodges, Director, Ohio Department of Health, Et al. (sorry, not sorry–self-proclaimed SCOTUS nerd here), or, more colloquially, the Supreme Court of the United States’ decision on same-sex marriage.

All at once, my heart swelled with pride–not only for the members of the LGBTQ+ community, who had achieved a long-fought victory today, but for our Nation as a whole, who began to make steps toward a more progressive, more inclusive future. I beamed at the thought that, at last, everyone in the United States could make their wedding dreams a reality–a privilege afforded to me my entire life as a heterosexual woman. Finally, my friends, classmates, colleagues, and community members could publicly profess their love to another in the highest and most formal way that, for reasons of bigotry and fear, was controlled by the government and denied to them until today. This is a monumental step in the right direction–but there is certainly still plenty of work to do.

As the day went on, the true colors of some Americans on social media shined through. While many posted supportive rainbow flags and wrote supportive words (a Facebook friend of mine even told of coming out to her mother–very powerful), all of which gave me hope, I grew sad as I read through comments on Instagrams, replies on Twitter, and written Facebook posts that cried out in the name of their God (I do not associate this God with mine, as any God I would choose to worship would not call for us to hate another on the basis of difference) or in the sheer basis of their ignorance declaring their disagreement with this SCOTUS decision. Hateful speech, including derogatory slurs, sprinkled throughout these posts.  I am thankful that in the midst of today’s celebration, these ill-given words were likely overlooked, but I am concerned for what is to come. I hope that these couples, like all couples, who face challenges will be strengthened by their love, as love is what guides us all, and is what brings us all together.

It is also my hope that others begin to recognize love as love. Many social media posts (including ones that positively spoke of the decision) began with the basic sentiment “I don’t want to get political, but…” or “I’m normally not political, but…” I understand. I try to avoid politics as well, as, after sitting through a number of fiery, exhausting Political Science courses in undergrad, I’ve tried to remain numb to purely political action. But I don’t see this as a political issue. The freedom to love is a basic human right. Basic human rights should not be an issue of politics. They should simply be upheld, appreciated, and recognized by all. Love is not politics. Love is, well, love.


One of my sorority sisters posted this Tweet today, which I love, mostly because it reminds me of the big picture historic significance of this day.

Weird and wonderful, the way history works.

YAS.

x.M

Leave a Reply

